The next Executive Leadership Council

will take place in September– tentative date 9/26/22

For details, please contact us at


About the Seattle Federal Executive Board

Established in 1961, the Seattle Federal Executive Board (SFEB) is comprised of Federal agencies in the greater Puget Sound area. It is headed by a Chair and Vice Chair, each elected annually. A Policy Committee constitutes the remainder of the decision making entities of the Board. The remaining two aspects of the Board are its General Membership which encompass approximately 147 Federal agencies and 12 Committees.

President John F. Kennedy signed a Presidential Memorandum on November 10, 1961 directing the establishment of Federal Executive Boards (FEB) in ten major centers of Federal activity. These new organizations were to serve as field level structures comprised of the highest ranking official of each federal agency (civilian, military, and postal service) in that given area. Seattle was among the ten original FEB locations. The need for effective coordination among the field activities of Federal departments and agencies was then, and is still, very clear. Approximately 88 percent of all Federal employees work outside the National Capital Region. Federal programs have their impact largely through the actions of the field representatives of the departments and agencies. In addition, Federal representatives are the principal contact with the Federal Government for the citizens of the United States. The National network of 28 FEBs, located in areas of significant Federal populations, serves as the cornerstone for strategic partnering in Government.